Subscribe to Newsletter(s)

Prof Leo Tan named Fellow of the Singapore National Academy of Science

Published on 30 Nov 2011

Prof Leo Tan Wee Hin, ASEF Governor for Singapore, was named Fellow of the Singapore National Academy of Science on 24th November 2011.

This fellowship title emulates the Royal Society Fellowship in Britain and titles given by the national Academy of Sciences in the United States of America.

Congratulating Prof Tan on behalf of ASEF, Amb. Michel Filhol, ASEF Executive Director, said “I am extremely delighted that you were recognised as one of only 11 eminent professors in the fields of mathematics and science in Singapore”. 

A marine biologist, Prof Tan, is well-known for his outstanding contributions to the promotion of science and technology in education in Singapore. Appointed as ASEF Governor in 2009, Prof Tan has also been an ardent supporter of ASEF’s mandate and initiatives.

He is also the Chairman of the Singapore Raffles Museum of Biodiversity Research Fundraising Committee. His interest in youth development stretches almost four decades with leadership appointments such as Chairman of both the National Youth Achievement Award Council and the Singapore Technologies Endowment Programme. He was the recipient of the Singapore President’s Award for the Environment in 2007.