Sustainable Development

Upcoming Events


Subscribe to Newsletter(s)

9th Asia-Europe Classroom Network (AEC-NET) Conference

Project Period: Contact: Department: Programme: Theme:
12 Nov 10 - 16 Nov 10 Education Department ASEF Classroom Network (ASEF ClassNet) Sustainable Development

Gurgaon, NCR of Delhi (India)

The 9th Asia-Europe Classroom Network (AEC-NET) Conference was organised from 12 to 16 November 2010 in Gurgaon, NCR of Delhi, in collaboration with St. Mark's Senior Secondary Public School, Meera Bagh, and supported by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, India.

The conference was attended by eighty-five (85) participants (including 6 student representatives and 3 observers) from twenty-eight (28) ASEM* countries.   The theme of the 9th AEC-NET Conference was “Climate Change and Biodiversity:  How They are Connected and the Impact of Biodiversity Loss in the Community in Asia and Europe”.  The theme was selected in conjunction with the 2010 international year for biodiversity.  The objective of the conference was to promote understanding on the value of biodiversity and to raise awareness of conserving biodiversity in the community through teachers/educators and students in Asia and Europe.  The 9th AEC-NET Conference falls under the greater framework of the Asia-Europe Classroom Network (AEC-NET) programme.

Launched in December 1998, the Asia-Europe Classroom Network (AEC-NET) is the Asia-Europe Foundation’s (ASEF) flagship programme which aims to foster collaborations among secondary and high school teachers and students in Asia and Europe.  The Network harnesses the potential of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) in connecting secondary and high schools of Asia and Europe and constructing a framework for a "cyber classroom" that would promote intellectual and inter-cultural exchanges among secondary and high school teachers and students of the two regions. The AEC has promoted more active interactions and learning between secondary and high schools in Asia and Europe.


*Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand and Vietnam.

Funded by the European Union